Be Fearless #Tips4Writers

thedressToday this arrived in the mail for me. Yes, it looks a bit better on her (no one would EVER mistake me for a model.) But this week I’m heading to Charleston for the Edel Gathering, and I needed a fabulous dress, dang it. Because the only thing worse than having to shop for a  beautiful new dress . . . is having to face a room full of strangers in an old one.

And so, I took a deep breath and splurged. And you know what? I’m ridiculously pleased with it. All swishy and girly . . . I might even have to put on some heels and mascara. And if I decide to REALLY let my hair down, shed the cute little silky shrug I bought to cover my arm waddle. C-R-A-Z-Y.

Bear with me. There is a point to all this.

How often do we prevent ourselves from taking the next step in the journey God has laid out for us simply because we fear failure? Whether it’s making contact with a potential mentor, writing that proposal, or trying your hand at some other opportunity that has landed in your lap?

Yesterday I had a prolonged exchange with a respected Catholic author and speaker, who had formed an ill impression of a mutual acquaintance based on . . . well, fear. She had been afraid to talk with someone who could potentially introduce her to a whole new circle of readers. That, too, is C-R-A-Z-Y.

It has been said that “the hand of God will never lead us where the grace of God cannot keep us.” If God has given you a gift, or an opportunity, or a message . . . Don’t waste it.

Pray for me as I hang out with two hundred new friends (gulp) at #Edel2015!

Leave a Reply

